How Cheddleton Committee was formed

Cheddleton Carnival was founded by Ruth Wood, licensee of The Boat Inn, Basford Bridge Lane and some of her customers who thought it would be a good idea to raise funds for local charities.
It was decided some years later that all the proceeds from fundraising should go to Cancer Research.

The very first Carnival took place in Cheddleton in 1944.


As you will appreciate, this was held during the war years when the village was desperately in need of some light relief to brighten up those very dark days and a local young lady called Gloria Harris had the honour of being crowned the first Basford Bridge carnival Queen.

Throughout the Forties and Fifties the event was held in the field next to the Railway Station, part of which has now been utilised as the Railway car park.


It was also held for a couple of years in the field opposite Victoria Cottages in Station Road before moving, in the early Sixties, to it's current location at Ashcombe Park.


As the village began to expand and some more people came along to enjoy this annual event it became known as the Basford Bridge and Cheddleton Carnival and more latterly simply as Cheddleton Carnival.
However, the older residents of Basford Bridge Lane still feel enormously proud to have been part of something that begun over 70 years ago and is still going strong today!


We now have a large committee comprising enthusiastic people from the village and to-date, with the tremendous support we get from Cheddleton, Wetley Rocks and surrounding areas, our fundraising for Cancer Research has passed the million pound mark!


Our current committee recognise the importance of retaining village traditions whilst at the same time introducing new ideas so there will be something of interest to everyone at the carnival this year.

Our first Carnival Queen was Gloria Harris who was crowned in 1944.
Here is a list of all our Carnival Queens.


Carnival Queen - Coronation year

Millie Williams 2018

Niamh Corden-Le-Petit 2017

Victoria Sheldon 2016

Paige Whittingham 2015

Katie Mellor 2014

Leann Nixon 2013

Alice Greatbatch 2012

Becky Midwinter2011

Abi Smith2010

Hannah Rushton2009

Emma Findlow2008

Gail Mitchell2007

Anna Bailey2006

Gemma Norman2005

Jessica Kelly2004

Rachel Walker2003

Rebecca Bourne2001

Kelly Smith2000

Lauren Potts1999

Katie Proffitt1998

Melanie Corbishley1997

Danielle Robinson1996

Michelle Keeling1995

Nicola Brough1994

Sarah Heath1993

Kirsty Tittensor1992

Sharon Shirley1991

Deborah Hughes1990

Rebecca Woodward1989

Jackie Clowes1988

Nichola Sargeant1987

Racheal John1986

Sarah Holdway1985

Sharon Corden1984

Nichola Mountford1983

Ann Winterton1982

Dawn Higton1981

Pamela Needham1980

Clare Sherratt1979

Jeanette Ball1978

Sandra Jackson1977

Christine Ball1976

Beverley Mountford1975

Catriona Palin1974

Kay Forrester1973

Anthea Nicholls1972

Mavis Hollins1971

Pam Sigley1970

Yvonne Alcock1969

June Ward1968

Elizabeth Nadin1967

Joy Nicholls1966

Shirley Kent1965

Elizabeth Plant1964

Barbara Neville1963

Freda Bartlett1962

Geraldine Alcock1961

Cynthia Cope1960

Kirsten Bell1959

Josie Copestake1958

Betty Cooper1957

Vicky Creyke1956

Margaret Keeling1955

Sandra Williams1954

Cath Rutter1953

Glenys Tatton1952

Irene Burt1951

Hazel Heath1950

Rosalie Shenton1949

Rosie Goldstraw1948

Joyce Shenton1947

Glenys Bateman1946

Joyce Chell1945

Gloria Harris1944